One of the major monuments of Arcadia is the Villa of Herodes Atticus in Eva Kato Doliana Arkadia, near the monastery Loukous which in antiquity was the temple of Asklipiadis Polemokrati. Eva was an ancient city of Arkadia from the currently scant remnants (fragments of pottery, etc.).
Tiberius Claudius Herodes Atticus (103-179 AD) was a wealthy ritoras, philosopher and politician and art collector. His father, Atticus had already Eva a little villa in which she appears to manage financial operations in the Peloponnese. Herodes Atticus, having completed his studies in Rome and Athens and occupied several axioms Greece and Rome decided to expand the mansion he inherited from his father, embellishing it with aqueducts, baths, statues, etc. The decision seems to rates and the rich history of the region, and proximity to the nearby shrine of Polemokrati but nice and peaceful landscape, lush vegetation, and the fertility of the land yield large quantities of oil and wine . The luxurious mansion of Eva so concentrated Herod Atticus largely from the collection of works of art of that time as previously, thus transforming into museum of ancient art and artistic and scientific institution, worthy of the great institutions of the Hellenistic period .
Today the Villa of Herodes Atticus is one of the richest archaeological sites in Europe. The wealth of architecture, sculpture and mosaics of the findings are surprising. The villa is a huge building and agglomeration of over 20,000 sq.m. Built in accordance with the principles of Roman architecture and urban planning. The device even the buildings are located in agreement with typical buildings of the villa of Hadrian in Tivoli, to whom Herod wanted to express his gratitude for the imperial favor which he enjoyed.
The site is located just after the Kato Doliana the right of the road Astros-Tripoli and directly opposite the monastery Loukous. The area of the villa includes patio (courtyard) in the center of the villa, an artificial river-moat, three galleries with stunning mosaic floors, House and baths complex. Ruins of the palace, aqueduct with two bows in very good condition, place of worship, foundations of buildings, mosaics, columns and scattered construction equipment.
The villa was first identified in 1809 by the English traveler Leake and was identified in 1909 by archaeologist K. Roman. Systematic excavations began in 1979 by archaeologist Panagiotis Faklaris. The rich finds from the villa out in Archaeological Museum of Tripoli and the Astros, while others remain in warehouses of the latter.
Click HERE to view photos.